

# 2014 Annual Faculty Assembly and Awards Ceremony

On December 4, we held the 2014 OS&OT Annual Faculty Assembly and Awards Celebration with the theme, "*Leadership: Past, Present, and Future*". Attendees enjoyed a wonderful time of inspiration, networking, discussion, celebration and refreshments in the beautiful Great Hall of Hart House.

Our speaker, **Karen Goldenberg,** Occupational Therapist and recipient of the Order of Canada, gave an inspirational speech on leadership, explaining how she influenced change for clients and society throughout the many stages of her career. She then outlined six indispensable qualities of leadership: vision, drive to excel, innovative thinking, passion and commitment, communication, and responsibility. Please see Karen's PowerPoint slides for further details. The time of audience questions and comments yielded interesting and inspirational discussion.







**Mandy Lowe**, Status Assistant Professor within the department, gave a thoughtful response to Karen's speech, outlining where the department is in terms of exploring and teaching leadership competencies within the curriculum. We were challenged individually and as a profession regarding where we go from here.

The awards ceremony was a wonderful and exciting time to recognize the winners of both our **Community Partners Awards** and our **Core Faculty Awards**. Please see the names of the winners below.







As a new feature this year, we had a **display of posters** that our community partners have presented at conferences over the past two years. It was very interesting to read about research and program initiatives in which OT's have been involved! Please see the listing below of posters and their authors.

Thank-you to each one that came to this wonderful event! We look forward to seeing you and many others next year!

# 2013/2014 Community Partners Awards

#### Fieldwork Supervision Recognition

This recognition award is for individuals who provide outstanding student teaching during block fieldwork sessions, as recognized by student(s).

**Amie Enns Nadia Jaffer Jennie Popplow Andrea Cook Joanne Kwong** Rama Arora-Persaud **Richard Kellowan Angela Wong** Joyce D'Mello **Karen Saeger** Shelly Dilawri **Betty Yu** Carolyn Alma **Leora Shuval Sheri Watson Leslie Coulter Sherri Dakin Carrie-Lynn Martin** Liz Mullan Siobhan Howard **Cindy Lee Dianne Cirone** Marcia Foley (2) Sonia Anderson **Ebony St. Rose Mary Yun** Sophie Wong **Eric Quan Matthew Tsuda Sweta Patel** 

Gillian Barrie (2) Harsha Babani

# Mentorship Recognition

This recognition award is for individuals who have been outstanding mentors in the Building Practice through Mentorship course.

**Morgan Gadsby** 

**Tanya Poon** 

Paula Szeto Emma Hicks Jun Maranan

# **Exceptional Guest Lecturer**

This award is given to an individual (or group) who, based on feedback from students on guest lecturer evaluations, excelled as a lecturer. She/he was able to motivate and inspire the students.

Marilyn Kenny The MS Presentation Team (Angela Covert, Carolyn Alma, James Hill, and

Janet Macneil)

#### **Exceptional Fieldwork Teaching**

This award is given to an individual who has consistently excelled as a fieldwork preceptor by providing a superior learning experience for a variety of student learners over a number of years.

**Edith Gagnon** 

#### *Numerous Contributions during Academic Year (Individual)*

This award is given to an **individual** who has been involved in several areas of occupational therapy education, including outstanding lectures, DCM learning, other brief teaching, small group leader, block fieldwork supervisor, as well as course/curriculum development or co-ordination.

**Cynthia Perry** 

## Numerous Contributions during Academic Year (Organization)

This award is given to an **organization** that has been involved in several areas of occupational therapy education, including outstanding lectures, DCM learning, other brief teaching, small group leader, block fieldwork supervisor, as well as course/curriculum development or co-ordination.

**College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario** 

## Sustained Outstanding Service Contribution

This award is given to an **individual** who has been involved and excelled in occupational therapy teaching, in multiple aspects of the previous categories for a consistent period of 3 years or longer.

#### **Christie Brenchley**

## Sustained Outstanding Teaching Contribution (Organization)

This award is given to an **organization** that has been involved and excelled in occupational therapy teaching, in multiple aspects of the previous categories for a consistent period of 3 years or longer.

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Bayview Campus and Holland Orthopedic and Arthritic Centre)

# **Core Faculty Awards**

Year 1 Teaching Award
Professor Jill Stier
Service Award
Nella Rupp

Year 2 Teaching AwardPeer Mentorship AwardDr. Barry TrenthamProfessor Donna Barker

Service Award
Dr. Deb Cameron
Dr. Nick Reed

## **Poster Presentations**

- The power of occupational engagement: Norm's story Rhona Anderson, Edith Ng, Heidi Reznick
- A clinical decision making tool for transfer assessment
   Debbie Hebert, Rhona Anderson, Karen Brunton Jo-Anne Howe
- The use of the assessment of awareness of disability with persons with acquired brain injury: validity and reliability

Rhona Anderson

- Pediatric Group Constraint and Bimanual Therapy Promotes Increased Occupational Performance Fay L, Lam-Damji S, Lockhart J, Hoffman S, Fedchak T.
- Through the looking glass: Group experiences of parents observing their children during sensory motor therapy

Joan Vertes, Emily Ho, Chrystelle Robinson, Veronica Gershenzon

- Establishing a Community of Practice to Achieve Success in Occupational Performance Maureen Riley, Melissa Heidebrecht, Susan Hannah
- Enabling Sexuality and Sexual Expression in Dementia Care. A Complex Best Practice to Embrace Ex-PLISSIT-ly Kevin Reel & Sylvia Davidson
- Multi-disciplinary approach to transitioning to oral feeds following placement of enterostomy tubes in infants
  post repair of esophageal atresia/tracheoesophageal fistula (EA/TEF)

Beth Haliburton, Ashley Graham, Monping Chiang, Vikki Scaini, Margaret Marcon, & Pricilla Chiu

Promoting vision rehab: An evaluation of a vision screen
 Edith Ng, Cynthia Perry & Debbie Hebert

Functional outcome following surgical management of spinal metastases
 Andrea Dyrkacz, Heather Sloman, Natali Mizdrak, Sivajeevithan Balaskantha, Sue Gowans.

• Clinical usability of a cognitive evaluation guideline for occupational therapists Cheryl Lui, Mandy Leung, Isabella Cheng and Helene Polatajko

 Collaborative Carrots: Leadership Strategies for Cultivating Interprofessional Collaboration through Recognition

Siobhan Donaghy, Jennifer Shaffer, Gabrielle Bochynek, Katherine Nazimek

From Data to Daily Practice: Strategies and Tools to Apply the Best Practice Recommendations for Stroke
 Care

Marie Disotto-Monastero, Mila Bishev, Siobhan Donaghy, Adam Saporta, Jennifer Shaffer

 Mindfulness-Based Meditation for Individuals in the Multiple Sclerosis Clinic Cecilia Wan OT Reg. (Ont.)

 The impact of best practice implementation for pressure ulcer prevention following spinal cord injury in an inpatient rehabilitation program.

Carol Scovil, Heather Flett, Lan McMillan, Diane Leber, Anthony Burns, on behalf of the Spinal Cord Injury Knowledge Mobilization Network

• The Development of a Process for for Standardizing the use of Patient Observers in the Management of Hig Risk Behaviors across Sunnybrook Health Sciences Center

Tanya Abji MSc OT. Reg. (Ont): Emily Stairs MSc OT. Reg. (Ont): Tracey Tracey dasGupta, MScN, Director of Interprofessional Practice, Gerry Huble PCM, Elisha Jacobs MScN, Trauma Patient Care Coordinator.

Collaborative Treatment Using an iPad

Daniela D'Aversa and Patty Matsuo.